1992 EMPYRIA releases its first six-song demo.



1995, sees the band sign a deal with the German T&T / Noise Records GmbH label.


1994 The band records a 2 song demo, which garners them a management deal from Florida based Dustin Hardman Entertainment (Kamelot / Oppressor).


EMPYRIA releases their first full length Behind Closed Doors” on March 3rd 1996, which features a heavier and more progressive metal sound.  1st appearance of the Empyria Logo, designed by friend Kevin Western.

1997, original singer/bassist Falcon leaves the band and is replaced by Phil Leite (vocals) and Ken Firomski (bass).


1993 The band releases its first independent record “Ornamental Ironworks” (8-song cassette), featuring a progressive rock influence.



1998, 3rd album, Changing Currents”, is released independently and distributed by Nightmare Records (U.S.A.) and Rising Sun Records (Germany). Also appearing on KMI Ent.'s (U.S.A.) “The Awakening” 1998 as the only Canadian band on the U.S. progressive metal compilation featuring their title track.

2000, The Legacy” EP is released by Nightmare Records (U.S.A). It featured for the first time all four parts of EMPYRIA'sThe Lighter Sides of Darkness” as a continuous 25-minute epic, a cover of The Police's "Synchronicity II" and the band's 1st acoustic track “Years Behind”. Single “Silent Rage (Pt.III)” released on BW&BK Knuckletracks XXVI (compilation) 2001.



2002, full length album,“Sense Of Mind” released on Scrape Records (Canada), and continued the vein of the previous album in general, but added an even more melodic approach to the songwriting. A compilation album, Westcoast Canadian Metal Feast”, was released in 2001, just prior to EMPYRIA's Sense Of Mind” and featured the title track along side of many great Canadian metal bands.

2003, EMPYRIA takes a long hiatus due to guitarist Mike Kischnick's involvement in 5 albums and 2 tours with Canadian Metal band THOR and various other projects. The three remaining members - Leite, Adam, and Firomski - continue to work on various music projects, shows/bands.



2008, EMPYRIA returns (now based in Kelowna, B.C.) and releases “The Long Road Home” through Nightmare Records (U.S.A.) in 2009, with the return of Falcon on bass, Phil Leite (vocals), Mike Kischnick (guitars/synth) and new drummer Scott Gamble. The album sees a return to their progressive rock & metal influences. Single “Last Rites” appears on a Nightmare Records Compilation 2010. The band continues to play “LIVE” shows adding a 2nd guitarist Steve Bifford in 2010,playing with bands like Sabaton, Firewind, Warrel Dane, and Nickleback.

2011, July 1 (CANADA DAY), a new single "The Sheltering ( 2011 A.D.)" is released as a FREE Download on Last.fm, with former bassist Ken Firomski. 2011 sees the departure of Paul Falcon and the addition of John Buck on Bass.



2012, EMPYRIA's “False Witness” single appears on Armstrong Metalfest Sampler compilation (Canada).

2014, EMPYRIA records and releases their new single "Beyond The Doors" with B-side cover/cover version of “Green Manalishi (with the two pronged crown)”. This is the first release featuring all current EMPYRIA members. Available through I-tunes/CD Baby or as Retro pack - here



Mike Kischnick, guitars/synth - 1991-present

Phil Leite, vocals - 1997-present  

Scott Gamble, drums - 2008-present  

Steve Bifford, guitars - 2010-present  

John Buck, bass - 2011-present


Paul Falcon, bass - 1991-1997, 2008-2010

Simon Adams, drums - 1991-2008  

Ken Firomski, bass - 1997-2008  

Troy Taillon, drums - 1993-1995

Hover pics to enlarge

Empyria_about Empyria_history Empyria_shows Empyria_media Empyria_store index

2019, EMPYRIA records and releases “Divded”, a five song EP containing 2 “brand new” tracks and 2 classic Empyria tracks (revitalized) with current Empyria line-up.